Me as a Father — Thinking Aloud


I have two kids. Boys. Both are attending pre-school. They like toys, playing games (with quarrels in between) and they love going to school. I want my children to enjoy their childhood life. I give them the best I can when and where possible. I teach them about life and about how some things are good and bad; how some things are easy and difficult; and how some things are meant to be the way they are.
 
I want them to feel good about themselves. I want them to be confident and proud about what they know and can do. I can probably influence their growth, guide them and contribute to making them the best citizens they can become, but I can never control their choices. However, I can teach them about the good values to treasure, share and keep; give them pieces of wisdom to guide them in their life as they grow old; and perhaps even share my knowledge and skills to inspire them of what they want to do when they grow up.
 
It is tough to be a father. You have to be a model to yourself, your wife and to your kids. They all look up to you. Even to the most shy, a father has to be brave and strong for the kids. Even to the most introvert, you have to learn to speak up and fight for the kids. Even to the most selfish, you have to learn to give and share for the sake of the kids. I am not the best father in the world, but, at the very least, I aim to be the best father to my family.
 
I know they are proud of me. I know they respect me. I know they love me. And those are the best things a father should know… the best things a father should keep… and the best things a father should never lose…
Leave a Reply

