Cold Rain Inspired Dinner


It rained the whole day today in NJ. Heading home, the rain stopped but the air was chilly cold. I needed to do something different. So, back home, I challenged myself to spend some time to cook my dinner.
 
I had a boneless breast fillet rubbed all over with garlic powder. I placed it in a bowl and poured some lemon pepper marinade. I cut the chicken lengthwise, like when you’re slicing bread, but not all the way as to separate it in halves. I then stuffed a thin slice of Swiss cheese, chopped red bell peppers and chopped tomatoes in my breast fillet. It looked like a sandwich with the breast fillet acting as the "bread".
 
I love basil! So I sprinkled some basil all over the chicken and set aside for a few minutes.
 
At medium to high heat, I heated butter and canola oil in a grill pan and fried the chicken covered for 3 – 5 minutes on each side. Afterwards, I pre-heated the toaster oven set for broiling and put the chicken in for like 20 – 25 minutes.
 
While the chicken was broiling in the toaster oven, I mixed the remaining marinade, chopped bell peppers and chopped tomatoes together creating a chunky marinade mix. Using the same grill pan where I fried the chicken, I poured in the chunky marinade mix which I cooked in low heat, scraping and stirring in the flavor still stuck on the grill pan. I cooked the chunky marinade mix just enough to sort of "clean" the grill pan. I wanted the sauce to turn a bit thick but I was careful not to overcook the red bell peppers and tomatoes because I wanted the resulting sauce to remain chunky. Afterwards, I removed the chunky sauce from heat and waited for the chicken to be done.
 
When the chicken was done broiling, I plated the chicken and finally poured the chunky sauce all over it. It looked, smelled and tasted so good! It was a delicious treat I enjoyed with a cup of very hot steamed rice to which I mixed about 2 teaspoons of extra virgin olive oil and a sprinkle of chopped parsely. I let the rice’s heat naturally "cook" the olive oil and parsely together. Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum!
Leave a Reply

