Beef Stew ala Mechado


I spent a lot of time cooking lunch today. I started by sauteing red onions and tomatoes in a deep pan for stewing. I then added beef cut in stew size cubes and sauted the beef until light in color. I covered the pan for about 5 minutes to let the beef sweat. Afterwards, I added some whole black peppers, water and a beef boullion cube while stirring the mix to a boil. I covered the pan and simmered in low flame for 30 minutes. The whole intention was to slow cook the beef to make it tender so that it would be easy to cut a piece with just a fork.
 
When the beef was really soft, I added potatoes, carrots and half a small can of tomato sauce. I let the stew boil in high flame and simmered down to low flame again for around 5 – 7 minutes. I then added yellow bell peppers and simmered for another minute. Lastly, I poured in the remaining half of the tomato sauce and simmered for another minute. The stew naturally thickened after a few more stirring and then I was done.
 
It was perfect served with plain steamed rice.
 
I cooked far too many for a meal so, tonight, I plan to heat the leftover stew and add in additional flavors with some Mrs. Dash salt-free seasoning, basil and parmesan cheese. A richer flavor everytime. Mmmmm…
Leave a Reply

