Chicken Pepper Pasta


I love pasta. So by some accident, I sort of invented this pasta recipe which I enjoy preparing once in a while.
 
I start by cutting (orange or yellow) bell peppers in lengthwise quarters and putting them skin down in the oven toaster for around 10 – 15 minutes. Afterwards, I place them in a plastic container and covered them while steaming hot to keep the steam in. This would help the skin of the bell peppers to soften. In 10 – 15 minutes or so, I can easily slide the skin off the bell peppers using my fingers. Then I would cut the bell peppers lengthwise at a little less then 1cm wide per slice.
 
For the thin spaghetti that I’ll be using, I boiled water flavored with olive oil and salt. The spaghetti usually took around 6 – 7 minutes to cook. But boiling the water gave me enough time to prepare the sauce.
 
I sauteed in olive oil some chopped garlic, onions and boneless chicken breast tenderloins which I’ve cut into strips of around 1/2" thick. I added some salt and Mrs. Dash salt-free seasoning. Then I added the bell peppers and covered the pan to let the chicken sweat without necessarily cooking them well — just enough for the outer meat to appear white. Finally, I added a can of Italian style stewed tomatoes and simmered the mixture. Once in a while, I stirred and crushed the stewed tomatoes to help thicken the chicken and pepper tomato sauce.
 
By the time I was done with the sauce, the spaghetti’s ready as well. I drained the spaghetti and added them to the sauce. I took this opportunity to adjust the taste with salt or Mrs. Dash. Of course, I didn’t forget the basil for that extra Italian inspiring flavor and aroma. It was terrific! I was able to cook enough for 5 persons!
 
Good thing there are 5 of us in the house today…
 
(Alternatively, I remember the first time I cooked this, I started by marinating the chicken strips in chopped garlic and freshly squeezed lemon juice for like 7 minutes. I used the chopped garlic to saute but discarded any excess lemon juice since it might make the pasta taste, too, sour to be true.)
Leave a Reply

